Outside Louisiana

The United States of Americamap_of_the_united_states_of_america

There are fun activities all across the United States, you just have to know where to go to find them.

Continue reading for more information on the U.S.

The United States comprises of 50 states. The majority of the land surrounding the northern border is Canada and the southern border is Mexico. The Atlantic Ocean borders the East Coast and the Pacific Ocean borders the West Coast.


There are 10 federal holidays, ranging from New Years to Christmas Day.

Additional to the federal holidays, there are several observed holidays which honor specific groups and events, such as Valentine’s Day, Earth Day, Mother’s Day, Father’s Day, Flag Day, and Halloween.


The US currency consist of coins and bills, issued in several denominations: $1, $2, $5, $10, $20, $50, and $100. The United States no longer issues bills in larger denominations, such as $500, $1,000, $5,000, and $10,000 bills. There are several denominations of coins, with the most common being: 1¢, 5¢, 10¢, 25¢, 50¢, and $1.

Museums collect and care for objects of scientific, artistic, or historical importance and make them available for public viewing. They generally concentrate on a particular subject, and most belong to one or more of the following categories:

  • Fine Arts or Applied Arts
  • Archaeology
  • Anthropology and Ethnology (branch of anthropology that analyzes cultures)
  • History – Natural, Cultural, and Military
  • Science
  • Technology
  • Children’s Museums
Official Language of the United States

There is no “official” language at the federal level for the United States. Although the most commonly used language is English, there are over 300 languages spoken or signed by the population. Some individual states list English as their official language.

States and State Capitals

The Library of Congress provides historical information and fun facts about each state in the United States, including when they became a state, their nickname, and capital.

Time Zones
The continental U.S. (including Alaska) spans five time zones. American Samoa, Hawaii, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin islands are located in additional time zones. Daylight Saving Time (DST) is a widely used system that adjusts the official local time forward (“spring ahead”) from the official standard time during summer months, usually by one hour.

What's your next adventure?

error: Content is protected !!